vt logo 
Marriage & Family Therapy PhD Program
our former faculty 
Joe Maxwell, 1971-96, Professor & Department Head. Virginia Tech Academy of Teaching Excellence.
Jim Keller, 1973-96, Professor & Founding Program Director. AAMFT Fellow, Commission on Accreditation member; AAMFT Training Award; Virginia Tech Academy of Teaching Excellence.  
Mike Sporakowski, 1970-2000, Professor, Department Head, Associate Dean. AAMFT Fellow, former AAMFT Board member; former Editor, Family Relations; founding member, Virginia Association for Marriage & Family Therapy.
Bud Protinsky, 1974-2002, Professor, Clinical Training Director (till '93), Program Director. AAMFT Fellow, Virginia Licensing Board member. AAMFT Training Award; College of Human Resources Teaching Award.
Anne Prouty, 1996-2001, Assistant Professor & Internship Coordinator.
Anna Beth Benningfield, 2001-2004, Visiting Professor & Clinical Training Director. Twice elected AAMFT President. AAMFT Fellow, Commission on Accreditation member. AAMFT Outstanding Contribution to Marriage & Family Therapy Award.
Lenore McWey, 2002-2004, Assistant Professor and Internship Coordinator.
Stephanie (Walsh) Burwell, 2002-2003, Visiting Professor.
Maggie Keeling, 2004-2010, Assistant Professor & Clinical Training Director.
Valerie Glass, 2010-2012, Clinical Training Director and Visiting Assistant Professor.
Scott Johnson, 1991-2016, Associate Professor & Program Director. AAMFT Treasurer and President, Virginia Licensure Board member. Associate Director, Office of Recovery and Support.